iris

This flower has just become a favourite May flower-the Bearded Iris, Celebration Song. I love this old ladyish colour combination of soft apricot and lavender blue and the startling tangerine “beard”, and it has a strong but  indescribable perfume too.

If I had a huge garden there would be a border filled with these and lavenders-a soft, girly pastel border to enjoy whilst wearing cotton summer frocks and drinking Pimms. Today it was jeans, a fleece and a cup of tea! And there’s just the one plant.

I have told its story in paint on the other blog

2 comments

  1. I like the sound of your soft girly border. I’d enjoy the Pimms to, but would not enjoy wearing the soft girly dress. I might stretch to a skirt though. Lovely iris, I long for a sunny border I can grow them in.


Leave a Reply

