late autumn

I sat outside in the garden this afternoon for about half an hour, sketching the Betula utilis var. jacquemontii that is one of the beauties of the garden, enjoying the querulous conversations of the Goldfinches and  the chiming of the Long-tailed Tits. Cold air from “The North” is coming and it is unlikely there will be many more occasions to enjoy the garden in anything approaching outdoor comfort.

It is a good tree, the white birch. In Spring , catkins dance among pale green leaves; in summer it casts a light but welcome shade; in autumn, those leaves turn golden and finally, in winter the ghostly beauty of the bark brings light to a dark corner. It carries a couple of bird feeders too. What more could you ask for from a tree?

Do you have a favourite tree or other plant in your garden? Perhaps the one you would grow in a new garden if you had to move?


3 comments

  1. My favourite is cornus mas, the Cornelian Cherry. It can be pruned to be a medium to large shrub or if there’s space let become a bushy small tree. Yellow-green flowers on bare branches in early spring, fresh pale green leaves in summer, edible red fruit and lovely autumnal colour.

    Do you wash your silver birch’s bark?

    Celia

    • I do indeed Celia, and as I was sketching the tree I realised it needed a bit of a wash and brush up.
      I have never grown Cornus mas. We are on the alkaline side here,and I haven’t seen many in this area, so maybe we are a bit too chalky for it to thrive. It sounds like a great choice- I look forward to a picture next spring.

  2. Hi! I wanted to let you know that the blog carnival “How to Find Great Plants, Issue #1″ was published today and includes your post on ‘Golden Delicious’ apples. It’s one of my favorite submissions! Thanks for participating!

    I can never make up my mind on a favorite plant, I’m fickle. I can see why you love this birch, though. Very picturesque. :)


Leave a Reply

