thanking the trees and others

“Hey farmer, farmer, put away the DDT now,          Give me spots on my apples, but leave me the birds and the bees…”*

My Golden Delicious tree has groaned under the weight of fruit this year, despite thinning some of it in the early summer. I took these pictures yesterday morning. I have already harvested and stored 100 decent apples -these are what remain. A few have fallen for the blackbirds but most are still tightly attached-I know because I took one for my elevenses-cold, crisp, sweet, golden and well, delicious. It may be common and a bit dull when bought in a supermarket in April, but straight from the tree it is a very fine eating apple.

I don’t know if I am alone in this, but I always thank my trees when I harvest the fruit. I often pat them, like I would a horse. I’m not sure why-they can’t hear or feel but somehow it seems fitting. And I also whispered a little thank you to the white tailed bees and their kin who pollinated this abundant crop back in April.

As for the spots on my apples-I don’t know what causes them, but they are only skin deep and they don’t taste of anything. And I can live with spots-and birds and bees.

Continuing a theme of thanks, I want to say a really big thank you to  everyone who has popped over to my other blog too. It is very kind of you all and deeply appreciated.

*Joni Mitchell-Big yellow Taxi.

6 thoughts on “thanking the trees and others

  1. “Don’t it always seem to go,
    That you don’t know what you got til it’s gone.”

    Beautiful pictures of a lovely tree.

    There are a few gray birches on my favorite spot around the lake; I pat them, rub their smooth bark, and ask them how they’re doing.

  2. Hi Judith – no fruit trees but I love to touch tree bark and hear the echoes. No wonder you had a bumber crop with all those blossoms. So pretty. Not been keen on Golden Delicious but never tasted one off the tree. Save one for me ;)

    Laura

  3. It’s so much better to have paradise rather than a parking lot, don’t you think?? Apples are the very best!! And, yes, patting trees is totally appropriate, hugs work, too. ;0)

  4. An apple expert in training said that Golden Delicious is often a pomologists favourite appleif eaten straight from the tree; this was when a man seemed disappointed that his tree was ID’d as Golden Delicious because he liked the apples so much. He must have thought they would be something rare. We get those same spots on the yellow skinned apples at the community orchard.
    cheers alison lemonaday

Leave a Reply

