Three goldfinches..and a joyful season to you all.


Looking out of the kitchen window this morning, we were rewarded with this glorious sight-three goldfinches feeding on the seed heads of Verbena bonariensis, only 4 feet from the house. If I had cut this down after flowering, I would not have seen these charming little birds. It really doesn’t pay to be too tidy in the garden in the autumn.

Yesterday I pruned the apple and pear trees whilst they stand dormant and washed the bark of the white Himalayan birch-my last chores in the garden for a while. It really does seem like a time for sleeping now.

And that is my final posting for a little while. The family will be home soon and we will hibernate for a few days together. I wish everyone the most peaceful season and may joy be to you and yours and a Happy New Year to you all.