Green shoots


It’s been a funny old week, in many ways. We have been pelted by heavy rain and buffeted by strong winds for the last few days, so it was a welcome respite to see a little sunshine today, before the next Atlantic gales howl in over the weekend. As much as I enjoy living near the top of a hill, it does make for noisy nights when the weather is rough. And sometimes the creaking in the roof is quite alarming.

I stopped off at the allotment on the way home from work to check the covering sheet was secure on the manure heap and hadn’t blow away in last night’s high winds, and to check the horticultural fleece was still in place above the broad beans. The little beans are now about 3 inches high and looking sturdy. Back at home , I inspected how my garlic was coming on.

In November, I read over at My Tiny Plot that garlic can be grown in pots. I tried to buy garlic a few weeks ago, to put on the allotment, only to discover the local garden centre was sold and not expecting any more until spring. I had given up on the whole garlic growing in autumn idea until I read the above post. So about 2 weeks ago, I inspected the fridge and discovered I had a head of hard neck garlic sitting there, and set about splitting it and placing the individual cloves in pots. It is the hard necked variety that is most likely to stand up to the rigours if an English winter, I believe. The following day I bought a couple more garlic heads, deciding to continue the experiment . I was not convinced these were the “right” sort of garlic -but I’ve not lost a great deal if the experiment was unsuccessful, and can plant some more next spring anyway.

Today, on inspection, I discovered that the garlic was growing very strongly. Little white roots are pushing out of the bottom of the pots. The hard necked sort is on the left, and the larger variety I bought on my second garlic hunting foray is in the round pots. So far, the experiment seems to be OK and they appear to be enjoying this mild and wet winter. Now-do I keep them growing on in their pots, or get them into the ground when it is dry enough? Any thoughts anyone?